At what rate do tyres wear?

Hi all,

I'm considering going for a drive up to Sydney for work fairly soon, but just noticed I only have maybe 1 - 1.5mm tread before the wear mark on the back wheels.

I'm curious how quickly this amount of tread would actually wear generally? They are the stock Dunlop 300E tyres, and I typically don't really drive it *too* hard (usually! ;) ).

btw - I know this topic has been mentioned before, but I couldn't find much on the actual wear rate.

Hi all,

I'm considering going for a drive up to Sydney for work fairly soon, but just noticed I only have maybe 1 - 1.5mm tread before the wear mark on the back wheels.

I'm curious how quickly this amount of tread would actually wear generally? They are the stock Dunlop 300E tyres, and I typically don't really drive it *too* hard (usually! ;) ).

btw - I know this topic has been mentioned before, but I couldn't find much on the actual wear rate.

Where are you driving from? I'm no expert on tyres but if drove from Canberra to Sydney with that much tread left I doubt I would notice any difference when I returned. Melbourne to Sydney and back you may notice a little difference but I would hazzard to guess you would still have at least 1mm left. Assuming normal driving and a short stay in Sydney of course.

Edited by Djs

They normally wear quicker when you notice and slower when you don't

Either way, 1mm - 2mm seems to be quite thin for my liking.

Suggest changing them as worn off tyres can often have dier consequences when emergencies strike! <_<

Cheers.

They also wear out exponentially faster when rego is due.....

Which always happens to be the same time as your insurance as well.

They normally wear quicker when you notice and slower when you don't