2001 camry v6 oil

The Don

Hello all new member here, what sort of engine oil should i use in a v6 that has 215000kms this car has always been seviced by toyota just bought it, but i am a mechanic so no more toyota i have serched but get diferent oils eg fully synthetic 5 /30 semi synthetic10/40 ....... cheers Neill.

I have used only ever used "Castrol GTX(3) For Modern Engines" in my 2001 V6 in 12 years. Never had a problem. Renew filter and oil every 6 months, regardless of Kms travelled...Mine has not seen a Toyota Service centre in over 10 years, I do my own servicing..I also use the same oil in my 2005 Corolla....

Edited by Topdog

A wise old Viking like man told me to use a good quality semi- or full synthetic oil.

I have been using Mobil1 5-50w and Penrite SIN 0-50w with no issues whatsoever.

Check out your Users Manual. They (Toyota) will tell you what grades to use and the temperature ranges for different grades etc. for all conditions. The same information is in the Toyota 1Mz-FE Workshop Manual Lubrication Section....Quote: "API Grade or SH, Energy-Conserving II Multigrade engine oil or ILSAC Multigrade".

Edited by Topdog

I have hear not to use full syn straight away if there is any signs of leaks. They sometimes have a cleaning agent in them and can clean up those little bits of sludge that is actually plugging the leaks. Unless of course it has always been using synthetic fuels from the get go.

I was using Castrol edge in mine for the early part of its life but have changed to Mobil 1 for a few years with no problems

• 3 years later...

Howdy all !