HOW 2 LAUNCH?

im sorry if this is a dumb question but this is my first manual car and i want to know how to launch correctly without bogging or killing my clutch. i was an auto driver but converted to manual hahahaha :D :D :D . way more control of the car. also i heard something about rev matching or alike wen u downshift from a higher gear to lower smoothly, becasue wen i do this i dont get a smooth change, if you understand wat i mean

help much appreciated....... :) :)

• Replies 86
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Not safe, but efficient:

For novice:

1. 5000 rpm

2. Clutch dump

3. Flatshift at redline

For advanced:

1. 7000 rpm

2. Clutch dump + slightly less gas when hits lift with wheels spinning (depends on surface)

3. Flatshift 1 -> 2 at redline, then at 8000.

Edited by imek

If you have lots of patience with toyota dealers and money to burn on tyres then I suppose you could follow Imek's methods. But you can launch hard from 3500 to 4000 rpm with a small slip of the clutch to get moving.

If you have lots of patience with toyota dealers and money to burn on tyres then I suppose you could follow Imek's methods. But you can launch hard from 3500 to 4000 rpm with a small slip of the clutch to get moving.

Just watch out for Axle Tramp :)

Just watch out for Axle Tramp :)

Especally in the wet, damn that loud BANGing it makes sucks!!!

without bogging or killing my clutch.

Not safe, but efficient:

For novice:

1. 5000 rpm

2. Clutch dump

3. Flatshift at redline

For advanced:

1. 7000 rpm

2. Clutch dump + slightly less gas when hits lift with wheels spinning (depends on surface)

Imek, the more you say the more you look like you can't drive. This is NOT efficient, you will experience major wheelspin, MASSIVE wear and tear and good luck getting the revs up to 7,000 with the clutch in, the computer will not let lift kick in without the clutch being up so your revs will bounce on the limiter at 6,200.